UNC names 5 more candidates


The Opposition UNC on Saturday announced five more candidates to contest the 2020 general election.

Opposition Senator Saddam Hosein (San Juan/Barataria), Dinesh Rambally (Chaguanas West), Flora Singh (Arima), Maurice Hoyte (D’Abadie/O’meara) and Nabila Greene (Toco/Sangre Grande).

The party has completed its screening of all candidates and intends to roll out the other names in the coming weeks.

Hosein steps in to fill the vacancy of incumbent MP Dr Fuad Khan and is the only candidate named among the five with active political experience at a national level.

The party previously announced the names of 11 other candidates to contest the 2020 polls. It intends to only contest 39 seats in Trinidad and the remaining 23 candidates, which will include a number of incumbent MPs will be revealed later.


The post UNC names 5 more candidates appeared first on Trinidad and Tobago Newsday.

Next Post

Caribbean Airlines flies 276 people to regional countries

Caribbean Airlines has completed its second phase of repatriation flights for Caribbean nationals who were granted exemptions to return to their countries. In a press release on Saturday, the airline said a total of 276 people, inclusive of Guyanese and Jamaican nationals, returned to their countries between Thursday and Friday. […]