No change in election outcome as 3 recounts completed

The content originally appeared on: Trinidad and Tobago Newsday

PNM supporters celebrate after the announcement of local government election results at Balisier House, Port of Spain, on Monday night. The party retained control of its seven regional corporations in the election. – Ayanna Kinsale

With three of the 14 recounts from Monday’s local government elections completed by Wednesday morning, the Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) says the 7-7 outcome remains unchanged.

In a release, the EBC said ballots for three electoral districts – Cocoyea/Tarouba, Marabella South/Vistabella and Mayaro North – had been recounted so far.

For Cocoyea/Tarouba, the recount saw UNC candidate Shane Samlal receiving one more vote, making his new total 1,162. The PNM retained its 1,207 votes.

In Marabella South/Vistabella, UNC candidate Sasha Tricia Ali received one less vote making her new total 884. The PNM’s tally of 873 remained unchanged.

In the Mayaro North district, PNM candidate Ryan Stewart received one less vote, bringing his new total to 741. UNC candidate Kristen Thaddeus Townsand received two fewer votes, bringing her new total to 720. The Progressive Empowerment Party (PEP) remained with 43 votes.

Recounts in the remaining 11 electoral districts are ongoing.

The release added that chief election officer Fern Narcis-Scope received requests from the United National Congress (UNC) and People’s National Movement (PNM) for recounts in the 14 electoral districts on Tuesday.