Hughes, Cummings cop MVP awards


Carlon “Judgement” Hughes and Keron “Ball Pest” Cummings were named as the Most Valuable Players in League One and League Two respectively, as the 2017 Trinidad and Tobago Super League staged its awards ceremony on Wednesday evening. The venue was the Bmobile Hospitality Suite, Queen’s Park Oval, St Clair.

Hughes, with a league-leading 30 goals to his name, was a key component in Guaya United’s capture of the league and cup titles. Cummings, the former national midfielder, notched six goals but was a vital member of the Petit Valley/Diego Martin United squad who triumphed in League Two.

Hughes thanked the community of Guayaguayare for their support throughout this season.

“This trophy was well-deserved, for the supporters especially,” he said. “They gave me the inspiration for scoring all these goals. This trophy was for Guaya United.”

Delivering the feature address at the function was League president Keith Look Loy, who promised an improved 2018 season on and off the field.

“We have to grow, and we could only grow if we have an infusion of serious money,” said Look Loy.

He pointed out that former Carib Brewery’s sponsorship and events manager Colin Murray, who serves as an ordinary board member, will assist in that regard.

And Look Loy is hopeful the 2018 season will be televised locally. “I don’t know how we’ll be doing it, but it will be done,” he stressed. “Television brings sponsorship, so we have to be on television.”

He went on to say, “2018 cannot be a repeat of 2017. If we’re merely content to come back and repeat what we’ve done in 2017, then we’re falling behind, not going forward. We have to be better. Ultimately it’s my responsibility to get it done.”

He said the League was able to fulfil his promise of not operating in a deficit which he made before the start of the 2017 season.

Carlon Hughes, left, is presented with his League One Super League MVP trophy by league president Keith Look Loy on Wednesday at the Queen’s Park Oval, St Clair.

“I am pleased to say that we have run this League (with) one sponsor, Bmobile, and through the efforts of the (secretariat) and volunteers, we will complete the year with something like $100,000 in the black,” he declared.

The TT Super League president is also keen to maintain at least one Tobago-based team in the tournament, despite the struggles regarding the inter-island travel services.

Look Loy, who is also the coach of League One runners-up FC Santa Rosa, reflected on the 2017 season, which saw the creation of a new governing body, comprising the membership of all the clubs in the both League One (12) and League Two (seven).

He noted, “We have had great success, not only in my view, but in the view of the board of the TTSL and the players.”

The Super League president boasted, “We have brought crowds back to football. Guaya United may be the chief water-carrier in that respect, but other clubs have done well to return supporters to club football.”

He praised the Ron La Forest-coached Guaya for their League One success.

There was also a League One Team of the Year, which was announced at the function.

Super League League One All-Star XI:

Goalkeeper – Kitwana Manning (FC Santa Rosa).

Defenders – Glenton Wolfe (Guaya United), Alfie James (FC Santa Rosa) and Joseph Brown (University of Trinidad and Tobago).

Midfielders – Michael Darko (Cunupia FC), Shaquille Ferrier (Guaya United), Beville Joseph (Guaya United) and Rashad Griffith (FC Santa Rosa).

Strikers – Carlon “Judgement” Hughes (Guaya United), Kevon “Showtime” Woodley (Cunupia FC) and Devon Modeste (Queen’s Park).

The post Hughes, Cummings cop MVP awards appeared first on Trinidad and Tobago Newsday.

Next Post

Brooks hits 96 but TT spinners put brakes on Bajans

Barbados Pride captain Shamarh Brooks struck a patient 96 and ex-West Indies limited-overs player Jonathan Carter contributed 72, but the Trinidad and Tobago Red Force spinners fought back at the end of the first day of their Regional Four-Day Tournament Seventh Round match yesterday. At the Brian Lara Cricket Academy […]