Ex-Couva North MP: Vote Ratiram, vote UNC


FORMER UNC Couva North MP Ramona Ramdial is encouraging constituents to support the present candidate, Ravi Ratiram, and the UNC in the August 10 general election.

On Friday, a small group of Couva North constituents protested in Orange Valley, Couva, to demand Ramdial be their candidate.

They vowed not to vote for the UNC if Ramdial was not the candidate. They also said did not know who Ratiram was and did not trust him.

But in response, Ramdial said on Saturday, “I urge my (former) constituents to accept the decision of the UNC party and political leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

“We need to unite to beat the PNM.”

Ramdial also said, “Whilst I understand emotions are running high, and thousands are disappointed, this is not the end.”

She said the Couva North family “will always be cherished,” and that it had been an honour to serve as its MP for the last ten years.

Ramdial is one of nine former UNC MPs who will not be contesting this election.

The others are Ganga Singh, Dr Bhoendradatt Tewarie, Fazal Karim, Dr Fuad Khan, Dr Tim Gopeesingh, Vidia Guyadeen-Gopeesingh, Dr Surujrattan Rambachan and Christine Newallo-Hosein.

The post Ex-Couva North MP: Vote Ratiram, vote UNC appeared first on Trinidad and Tobago Newsday.

Next Post

Youth Pro League on hold, SSFL to be decided on

THE Youth Pro League has not been given clearance to kick off, in August, as originally scheduled. Additionally, the Ministry of Education has been handed the responsibility to say whether or not the 2020 Secondary Schools’ Football League (SSFL), which is set for September, can proceed. This was revealed by […]